Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 08-17-2017, 23:12 | posts: 5,922 | Location: Southfield,MI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
Sweet, I'd really like to hear it.
Not so likely in my circles unfortunately as everyone is either into external DACs or isnt bothered about sound quality.

lol yep, pretty excited about the new DAC.
Its purely valve driven apart from the DAC chips. It has no other solid state devices.
I was going to wait a month to verify how good a new mod is for it but couldnt bear it.
If reports of the mod are good I'll get that as well

Please can you report back how the AE-5 settles in say a month.

ps another review of the AE-5
https://hothardware.com/reviews/soun...ne-aficionados
Yea I can
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Micas99
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980Ti X 2
Processor: 4790K @ 4.6
Mainboard: EVGA Z97 Classified
Memory: 16 GB 2400
Soundcard: Asus Essence STX II
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 08-18-2017, 20:23 | posts: 6

The AE-5 does not appear to have an optical input. That's a deal breaker for me. I previously upgraded from a HT Omega Claro Halo (has optical in) to an Asus Essence STX II (no optical in). so now I have 2 sound cards in my PC, which is less than optimal but it does work. I've been looking for a high end sound card that does have the optical input without any luck. Was hoping this SB would.. but alas. Sometimes motherboards do have optical in, but mine does not.. so I guess technically I have 3 sound cards in my PC, one of which is disabled.

Last edited by Micas99; 08-18-2017 at 20:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080ti @2GHz+ air silent!
Processor: 6700K @4.6GHz
Mainboard: Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: 16GB LPX 3000 @3600
Soundcard: UMC-1, TL+Ribbon spks
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 08-18-2017, 21:38 | posts: 10,247 | Location: United states of Kingdom

Easy solution is a USB optical in adapter.
They are hard to find without a soundcard but this is so cheap, who cares.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/CSL-8-chann.../dp/B01HM5KP5A
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
Micas99
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980Ti X 2
Processor: 4790K @ 4.6
Mainboard: EVGA Z97 Classified
Memory: 16 GB 2400
Soundcard: Asus Essence STX II
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 08-19-2017, 00:15 | posts: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
Easy solution is a USB optical in adapter.
They are hard to find without a soundcard but this is so cheap, who cares.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/CSL-8-chann.../dp/B01HM5KP5A
That's interesting.. but

This item does not ship to the United States.

I imagine I could locate something similar on amazon.. but still.. my concern is with the USB latency. I use my PC for creating music and it's gotta be spot on. I did try and find a PCI device with just an optical in.. no joy, and professional interfaces are extreme over-kill just to get the optical in I need.

It's surprising to me that high end sound cards don't seem to support that function when home recording is growing in popularity.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4v
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB @2133
Soundcard: AE-5>Jot> BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 08-19-2017, 01:33 | posts: 5,922 | Location: Southfield,MI

There is an line In function, unless the only choice you have is optical or you prefer to use optical.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
kx11
Maha Guru
 
kx11's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan Xp
Processor: i7 6900k
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage V 10th ed.
Memory: G.skill Trident Z RGB
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 1000 g2
Default 08-19-2017, 13:42 | posts: 2,374 | Location: Qatar

just got the card , now funny enough creative.com isn't opening for me

if you could link the software/driver plz post it here

edit: nvm it works now

Last edited by kx11; 08-19-2017 at 13:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ae-5 review

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.