Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



View Poll Results: Do you have problems with GPU assisted HD video playback o ATI graphics?
Yes: I experience trouble with GPU assisted HD video playback 41 27.89%
No: My GPU assisted HD video playback is flawless 85 57.82%
Other: I do not use GPU assisted HD video playback 21 14.29%
Voters: 147. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ATI Fails to Accelerate HD Video (H264, Out of BluRay Spec)
Old
  (#1)
xaueious
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI HD3200 Onboard
Processor: AMD Turion RM-70
Mainboard:
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: External
Angry ATI Fails to Accelerate HD Video (H264, Out of BluRay Spec) - 11-12-2009, 22:04 | posts: 46

This problem only affects videos out of (higher than) the official BluRay spec. This affects videos encoded in a particular way only!

This problem has been semi-resolved with workarounds from: http://zachsaw.blogspot.com/2009/08/...-dxva-for.html

TO SEE IF YOUR VIDEOCARD IS WORKING PROPERLY, PLAY THIS VIDEO IN A DXVA COMPATIBLE VIDEO PLAYER:
Quantum of Solace HD H264 L5.1 9 Reframes Trailer

This video has full DXVA acceleration with no video artifacts under supported Nvidia hardware. More video samples at: http://nunnally.ahmygoddess.net/watc...os-using-dxva/

For ATi hardware "supporting" dxva, currently no DXVA acceleration without corruption is possible for H264 videos above a specific encoding profile.

You are probably not affected if you do not play out of Bluray spec videos.

@SirDaniel suggested that ATI's upper limit for dxva acceleration are as follows:
1080p@4 ref frames
720@9ref frames
480@11 reframes

You may use 'Mediainfo' to check this information for a videoclip.
http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/

Tested for: ATI Catalyst 9.8, 9.9, 9.10, 9.11

DXVA Player Setup
It is recommended that Media Player Classic is used with the setup from the following page:
http://nunnally.ahmygoddess.net/watc...os-using-dxva/

(optional) To force MPCHC to try DXVA acceleration, modify the registry and add/change the key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Gabest\Filters\MPC Video Decoder
- Key name : CompatibilityMode
- type : DWORD
- value : 16 (Hex value)


What's DXVA
ATI has been shipping video products touting hardware acceleration for HD content, but it has failed to function properly for me and many other users.

DXVA HD video hardware acceleration promised that the GPU will handle the load of HD videos and not only reduce CPU usage when playing HD content, but also allow for otherwise underpowered computers to play HD video (GPU assisted HD decoding).

Here's a tool to see if your computer hardware is capable of handling HD content:
http://bluesky23.hp.infoseek.co.jp/e...ml#DXVAChecker

Problem A) Failure to Play Out of Spec H264 Videos on ATI Hardware
This is already a well known problem on all types of configurations, and I am convinced it is a driver issue. Nvidia and even Intel after some registry tweaking both work.

This means a lot of the h264 you 'obtain' from the internet will fail to use hardware acceleration through the ATI videocard. If you have a low power CPU (like me), you wont be able to watch HD content.

I've tried nVidia cards and they work flawlessly with out of spec H264 files even up to 1080p. I have tried many driver updates and believe that ATI isn't working on a fix on this AT ALL.

Now with more products coming out that tout HD acceleration such as the Dell Zino I just wanted to point this out. It means a waste of $300 bucks. Go get an Nvidia ION powered computer instead.

LP 5.1 HD Video Playback Failures:
http://forums.amd.com/game/messagevi...VIEWTMP=Linear

More Links:
Media Player Classic HC
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=123537


Catalyst 9.10 and 9.11 are broken too. This affects both my XP and Seven x64 installs.

The problem has been replicated here:
http://forums.amd.com/game/messagevi...hreadid=120591

Happening for anyone else?

Tested for:
Windows XP SP3
Windows Seven x64

ATI Radeon HD3200 (on HP Pavilion TX2524CA)

Media Player Classic Home Cinema (various versions tested)

I'll try to come back and report results.

Last edited by xaueious; 11-21-2009 at 22:10. Reason: Ambigous thread fail
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Funky Doodle
Master Guru
 
Funky Doodle's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte ATI HD 5830 1GB
Processor: AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE
Mainboard: GA-MA790X-UD3P AM2+
Memory: A-Data 4GB DDR2 800 Mhz
Soundcard: Creative SB Xtreme Gamer
PSU: Compucase CougarCM/R 700W
Default 11-12-2009, 22:35 | posts: 792

no problems here!)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 970 G1
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: Maximus VII Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance Pro 2400
Soundcard: Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 11-13-2009, 01:03 | posts: 10,640 | Location: Toledo

I've never noticed any issues.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
Processor: Ryzen 1700x @ 4102Mhz H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: DDR4-16GB @ 3555Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Thumbs up 11-13-2009, 01:54 | posts: 7,779 | Location: In Paradise :)

All fine here too ,NP.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
MerolaC
Ancient Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire NITRO R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 6700k@Stock@CorsairH60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Vengeance LPX 16G@3200
Soundcard: SB Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 11-13-2009, 01:57 | posts: 2,807 | Location: Argentina

Perfect here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 SLI @ 2.025Ghz
Processor: i7 5775C @ 4.0ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASRock Z97 Extreme 6 SLI
Memory: Trident DDR3 2400 32GB
Soundcard: Logitech G633
PSU: EVGA Supernova 850 P2
Default 11-13-2009, 02:07 | posts: 5,934 | Location: PA, USA

OP you are trying to do this on an HD 3200. There was a big thing already been done and past about the 3 series and playback issues. You either got lucky or you didn't with those cards.

Most of the higher end cards like the HD 3850 and 3870 worked. And by higher end I mean high end for the 3 series, not in general.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
ShivanSpS
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GT240
Processor: Core I3-530
Mainboard: Gigabyte H55M-USB3
Memory: 2x2GB DDR3-1333 8-8-8-24
Soundcard: Audigy SE @ X-FI
PSU: Vantec ION2 550W
Default 11-13-2009, 02:47 | posts: 144 | Location: Argentina

The issue ive noticed is its performance wise...

I mean... i have a Biostar GF8100M2+ TE with an Athlon X2 4200+, and a MSI 785GTM-E45 with a unlocked Sempron 140...

Playing the same 1080p .M2TS h.264/AVC (AVCHD video) movie with 39.000kbps bitrate, the oboard Geforce 8100 seems to have better or equal performance under PowerDVD9 using hardware decode... and has a contundent advantange under WMP12 playback(around 10% of cpu usage less than HD4200)...

NOTE: WMP12 also has hardware accel, since decoing this movie with software scales the CPU usage as high as 85%.

I have no idea of why the GF8100 with Cuda performs equal or better, when the HD4200 should be better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
MerolaC
Ancient Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire NITRO R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 6700k@Stock@CorsairH60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Vengeance LPX 16G@3200
Soundcard: SB Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 11-13-2009, 04:53 | posts: 2,807 | Location: Argentina

If it helps.
I use TotalMedia Theatre 3 Platinum for HD decoding (playing) which use ATi Stream (supports the nvidia cards too).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
justsomeguy
Newbie
 
Videocard: 8800 GTS
Processor: e6420 @ 3.2GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P
Memory: 6 GB / DDR2 800
Soundcard: X-FI xtreme music
PSU: Antec EarthWatts 500W
Default 11-13-2009, 05:48 | posts: 17 | Location: Oregon, USA

If you follow the "strict" definition of dxva then ati meets the requirements. However as the OP stated ATI/AMD cannot handle h264 encoded with L5.1. You only find content encoded this way online as blu-ray uses L4.1 which is within spec. However Nvidia has been able to for a while now, handle L5.1 encodes.

The issue with ATI not able to do it is not card specific. 3xxx, 4xxx and even the new 5xxx cards all cannot decode h264 using L5.1. Everyone here saying they have no problem obviously hasn't tried it. Download and play this http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/1907430/t..._high_l5.1.mp4 Quantum of Solace trailer. You will not get hardware acceleration with an ATI card.

I'm about to replace my ati card with an Nvidia in my HTPC because of this issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
vurt
Master Guru
 
vurt's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN
Processor: i7 2600k@4.8GHz
Mainboard: ASUS SaberTooth B3 P67
Memory: CORSAIR Dominator 8GB
Soundcard: ESI Juli@, Tannoy Reveal
PSU: Fractal Design Newton R2
Default 11-13-2009, 14:13 | posts: 253 | Location: Sweden

Seems to work here, but seems to depend on what i play..

I get terrible tearing on my 50" plasma though (no matter which V-sync settings or combo i select in MPCHC). I consider the 4870x2 quite worthless for serious video playback.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
ShivanSpS
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GT240
Processor: Core I3-530
Mainboard: Gigabyte H55M-USB3
Memory: 2x2GB DDR3-1333 8-8-8-24
Soundcard: Audigy SE @ X-FI
PSU: Vantec ION2 550W
Default 11-13-2009, 18:22 | posts: 144 | Location: Argentina

yup, its right... LP 5.1 cant be hardware decoded by the HD4200 either... i got 60% CPU usage with the trailer on the HD4200 and 22% using the GF8100. DXVA enabled on both.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
dave11
Master Guru
 
dave11's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX1070
Processor: Intel Core i7 6820HK
Mainboard: Alienware 15 R3
Memory: 16GB 2667mhz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: 240W Transformer
Default 11-13-2009, 18:51 | posts: 308 | Location: North East, England

40% CPU usage on HD2600, but then again thats not even 1 core so it dosent bother me.
By the way its normally 4-5% with 1080P films.

Dave
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
ShivanSpS
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GT240
Processor: Core I3-530
Mainboard: Gigabyte H55M-USB3
Memory: 2x2GB DDR3-1333 8-8-8-24
Soundcard: Audigy SE @ X-FI
PSU: Vantec ION2 550W
Default 11-13-2009, 19:17 | posts: 144 | Location: Argentina

L4D2 intro 1920x1080, .M2TS, 39.000kbps, h.264/AVC.

Software:

HD4200:


GF8100:


Hardware:

HD4200:


GF8100:



Quatum Solace, LP5.1

Software:

HD4200:


GF8100:



Hardware:

HD4200:


GF8100:



WMP12 (Hardware):

HD4200:


GF8100:


Note: HD4200 w/unlocked Sempron 140, GF8100 w/X2 4200+

Last edited by ShivanSpS; 11-13-2009 at 19:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
xaueious
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI HD3200 Onboard
Processor: AMD Turion RM-70
Mainboard:
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: External
Default 11-14-2009, 05:35 | posts: 46

I can't say I'm completely unsurprised by the number of people who replied thinking they have perfectly working GPU HD acceleration when they don't. That's probably also why ATI has ZERO INCENTIVE to fix this issue. Not too many people know how to setup GPU accelerated video playback even if their hardware support it. A lot of the time it is because people have CPUs that can handle the video load all by itself.

I'd really like to know when this actually receives an update. Have any of the beta drivers resolved these issues?

My Quantum of Solace test has the same results as you on my HD3200.

I haven't tried TotalMedia Platinum. Does that work with the Quantum of Solace trailer?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
sirDaniel
Member Guru
 
sirDaniel's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 5470M
Processor: Intel Core i3 370M
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: On board
PSU: Made in China
Default 11-14-2009, 09:54 | posts: 91

Oh man, i know how to resolve your problem. Stop downloading 5.1l files from torrents. Or better, stop downloading piracy videos at all...

It was discussed so many times, you dont discover anything new.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 11-14-2009, 10:02 | posts: 29,219 | Location: Guru3D testlab

GPU acceleration works fine you guys. Please make sure you have the latest version of MPC HT installed. Today I confirmed it workin on a 3200 IGP and also I gave it a try with the new Radeon HD 5870. Source material x.264 1080P + the Complex Sharpening Shader enabled. Tested on Windows 7 64-bit.

See thumbnail of series 5000 accelerating and post processing.


Follow Guru3D on twitter - facebook and Youtube.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
gurusan
Maha Guru
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Videocard: 5850 @ 1000MHz
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67-M Pro
Memory: 8GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX 650W
Default 11-14-2009, 11:01 | posts: 806 | Location: Portland, OR

MPC-HC + coreavc is all you need imo
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
justsomeguy
Newbie
 
Videocard: 8800 GTS
Processor: e6420 @ 3.2GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P
Memory: 6 GB / DDR2 800
Soundcard: X-FI xtreme music
PSU: Antec EarthWatts 500W
Default 11-14-2009, 11:42 | posts: 17 | Location: Oregon, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
GPU acceleration works fine you guys. Please make sure you have the latest version of MPC HT installed. Today I confirmed it workin on a 3200 IGP and also I gave it a try with the new Radeon HD 5870. Source material x.264 1080P + the Complex Sharpening Shader enabled. Tested on Windows 7 64-bit.

See thumbnail of series 5000 accelerating and post processing.

I use MPC-HC all the time and yes gpu acceleration works with 1080p. That's not the problem. That video you used is obviously not encoded with L5.1. Try the Quantum of Solace trailer I posted in my first reply. You won't get acceleration.

and to the guy accusing anyone who has video encoded using the L5.1 setting of stealing... NO one needs your input. I guess anyone that has any video encoded using the x264 codec must be a "pirate" as well. Nvidia must support piracy too since they deliberately added support in their drivers for videos encoded using L5.1.

Last edited by justsomeguy; 11-14-2009 at 11:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
sirDaniel
Member Guru
 
sirDaniel's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 5470M
Processor: Intel Core i3 370M
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: On board
PSU: Made in China
Default 11-14-2009, 12:22 | posts: 91

I do not accuse anyone. Well take my advice serious.. dont download/create 5.1l files and everyone is happy. Thats only solution for now since ati doesnt seem to be interested in supporting higher levels. And yes i also think ati sucks in that matter.
But.. there are guys that can playback files with more ref frames, (over 4.1l) without colourful artifacts. Its written in forums that xauieous linked. Just look deeper

Last edited by sirDaniel; 11-14-2009 at 12:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
DSK
Banned
 
Videocard: HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
Processor: E6300 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte - GA-EP43T-UD3L
Memory: Sector Five @ 1333CAS7
Soundcard: Realtek 81xx
PSU: Silverstone 500w
Default 11-14-2009, 12:39 | posts: 17,926 | Location: Coldwells,UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
GPU acceleration works fine you guys. Please make sure you have the latest version of MPC HT installed. Today I confirmed it workin on a 3200 IGP and also I gave it a try with the new Radeon HD 5870. Source material x.264 1080P + the Complex Sharpening Shader enabled. Tested on Windows 7 64-bit.

See thumbnail of series 5000 accelerating and post processing.
Maybe this is a dumb question but

is using the gpu better than the cpu ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
MerolaC
Ancient Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire NITRO R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 6700k@Stock@CorsairH60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Vengeance LPX 16G@3200
Soundcard: SB Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 11-14-2009, 15:48 | posts: 2,807 | Location: Argentina

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
sirDaniel
Member Guru
 
sirDaniel's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 5470M
Processor: Intel Core i3 370M
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: On board
PSU: Made in China
Default 11-14-2009, 17:32 | posts: 91

@MerolaC
Look at resolution and number of ref frames..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
MerolaC
Ancient Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire NITRO R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 6700k@Stock@CorsairH60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Vengeance LPX 16G@3200
Soundcard: SB Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 11-14-2009, 20:35 | posts: 2,807 | Location: Argentina

Quote:
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L5.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 10 frames
Codec ID : avc1
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
Duration : 1mn 48s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 7 515 Kbps
Maximum bit rate : 10.5 Mbps
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 528 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 2.40:1
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Resolution : 24 bits
Colorimetry : 4:2:0
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.464
Stream size : 96.9 MiB (98%)
I did a 1080p rip and the decoding over GPU was working.
Unfortunately, the audio was ****ed up and i had to delete it.


Edit:
I don't know if this helps, but...:




I'm using the modded drivers by KillerSnake. It has the option for video acceleration on Windows Media (Which works for MPC as far as i tested)

Last edited by MerolaC; 11-14-2009 at 20:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
justsomeguy
Newbie
 
Videocard: 8800 GTS
Processor: e6420 @ 3.2GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P
Memory: 6 GB / DDR2 800
Soundcard: X-FI xtreme music
PSU: Antec EarthWatts 500W
Default 11-14-2009, 22:25 | posts: 17 | Location: Oregon, USA

@MerolaC, thanks for the info. I just tried the lastest killersneak drivers "Enzyme 1.0 pre-final preview". Still no luck here. Which version of his drivers are you using? At this point I can kind of get it working but the video is totally corrupted and green... the cpu usage is very low though. Progress I guess but AMD really just needs to correct this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
MerolaC
Ancient Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire NITRO R9 390 8GB
Processor: i7 6700k@Stock@CorsairH60
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
Memory: Vengeance LPX 16G@3200
Soundcard: SB Titanium HD
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 11-14-2009, 22:52 | posts: 2,807 | Location: Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by justsomeguy View Post
@MerolaC, thanks for the info. I just tried the lastest killersneak drivers "Enzyme 1.0 pre-final preview". Still no luck here. Which version of his drivers are you using? At this point I can kind of get it working but the video is totally corrupted and green... the cpu usage is very low though. Progress I guess but AMD really just needs to correct this.
Yep, I'm using that one. Pre-Final 1.0

I've tried the QoS trailer, and it does have that mess up of Green color.
But, my rips are perfectly fine.
And they are High@5.1L
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.